h1

This Just In…

July 13, 2007

I’ve been informed this morning that I may be asked to stand in for the soprano soloist at this weekend’s Mozart workshop. I do not know the part at all, but I just glanced at it a bit and I know I can sing it.

This would be a huge opportunity for me. It’s just a rehearsal, but it’s getting me that one step closer to singing in public. And it will be very good for this director to know that I can handle solo lines.

One thing I am learning is that the music world is as political, if not more, than other worlds. People talk. A lot. And they let each other know who is good and who can do what and often, you’ll find yourself getting asked to do things. Seems to be better than simply declaring ‘hey, I want to do this.’

We’ll see what happens. If nothing else, I am singing Mozart all day on Saturday and that in itself is something special.

2 comments

  1. Hello lovely! Thanks for letting me know where you’re writing now, I’ve missed you. Good for you for getting out of what sounded like a bad situation, and for finding a great new teacher. Alas, it is almost impossible not to have politics involved when you are dealing with a group larger than two. You know how political the horse world is!

    –Hey Donna! Thanks for checking out the new blog… and yeah, politics, sigh…


  2. Ah so this is the new blog! I still have your oldie but goodie linked. I hope you are doing well. I will keep reading. Thanks so much for stopping by! XO

    –Hey Lynn… so glad you could join me… feel free to link this one and might be a good idea to unlink the other, if you have the time. XO back to ya!



Leave a Reply

