h1

La Rentrée

October 3, 2007

We call it reentry. Most countries have a term for it… it’s the sometimes brutal, hopefully gentle return to what you were doing before you left for vacation.

Personally, this was one of the most brutal I’ve ever been through. Perhaps because we were gone 5 weeks. Or it could have just been the sinus infection I promptly came down with. Or the inevitable consequences in my nether regions of having taken yet more antibiotics. The jetlag didn’t help.

I finally woke up from my antibiotic-sinus-jetlag haze this week when I returned to my beloved salsa class. Readers from my former bloglife will know that this is a mainstay of my personal health and wellness program and I have to say, it’s good to be back. I did pilates yesterday as well, and it felt really good to move my body again. The bitches in salsa class were only mildly bitchy. Or is it my mood? I have a new attitude towards them, and their personal ugly that they seem to need to bring to that class, and perhaps it showed. Personal ugly tends to wither and fade in the face of genuine happiness, I’ve found. I feel genuinely good and well-rested. The trip had its difficult moments and at times, we really felt it we had bit off more than we can chew, but I’m glad we did it. There’s nothing worse than coming back from vacation feeling more tired than when you left. But now that I’m over the hump of illness, I’m feeling the full effect of being away from my real life for 5 weeks. Net/net, I recommend getting away for at least 2-3, whenever you can.

Consequently, I awoke at 5:38am this morning, full of energy and generally feeling much more like my old self. I was getting concerned as I’m normally not down for long, even when sick. But things seems to have righted themselves at last, I’m happy to say.

Work is slow, which is kind of the universe, as I don’t think I could have handled a heavy workload with this return from the Land of Snacks, Sloth and Sightseeing.

I have my first voice lesson since vacation this Friday. I’m a little nervous because I haven’t sung a peep. I tested the pipes in my car yesterday. Okay, but seems a weebit ragged after 2.5 weeks of hacking and snorting my sinuses. Coughing is not a good thing for vocal chords. But… we’ll see. My teacher, La Dolce, will leave soon for 2 months. She’s working her hot self in the vocal competition circuit and will be bringin’ it to Korea. In the meantime, I will study with her husband. I saw them perform together in an opera recently and I have to say, I was impressed. Made me look back on the time I spent wasted with N and snicker a bit. That is so, so over.

In other news, because I seem to enjoy the life of luxury and like to pretend that I am a rich woman and occasionally scare my husband a bit, I am off to my beloved NYC in a couple of weeks. This is an experimental trip as I will be sharing a flat with a woman who I have come to know through the Internet. Yes, babies, I have an Internet Friend. Not that kind of friend, mind you. But I sometimes ponder the weirdness of having befriended and confided my soul to someone I’ve never actually met, although we have exchanged photos. Except that we have so much fun talking, that I just don’t see the difference sometimes. She is English, lives in Glasgow, Scotland and she is a doll. She’s a bit older than me, and we bonded over Joaquin Phoenix, my beautiful crazy monkey crush who is second only to Marlon Brando on my Freebie Five. Which is really my Freebie Two, because there are (currently) none other than those two.

So, I’ll be spending a week with a woman I know in a digital way, and while it’s risky to an extent, I think it’s going to be a blast. I don’t really have the time or money to be doing this right now, but when I heard she was crossing the pond, well… I couldn’t resist, could you?

One comment

  1. Re-entry huh? I thought that was when they come back from outter space. But then a vacation for 5 weeks could feel as foreign as outer space.

    Doesn’t surprise me the pipes are a bit rusty after a coughing type illness. Would surprise me more if they weren’t. Hope they smooth out quickly.



Leave a Reply

