h1

Better

November 3, 2007

Better in many ways, still freaked in others. Had a mammogram on Friday, waiting for results. Waiting for medical test results sucks, big time.

To keep myself sane, I read a lot. Here’s what’s on my current reading list, past and present:

NAKED + BARREL FEVER, David Sedaris (have read)
naked.jpg

Just how much do I love David Sedaris? So much that if I hadn’t been still feeling kind of whacked out in general, I would have driven about an hour alone last Monday night to go and see him. So much that I have come very, very close to writing him fan mail. A real letter, of course, because he loves letters, and that is a person who is near and dear to my heart. Actually, I don’t really know if he loves letters, but from the way he wrote about them in one story, I’m going to bet he does.

He also writes about my hometown from time to time, and that is too wonderful for words. Of course, the best thing about him is that he writes about crazy families and people and no one gets crazy down as well as he does.

I was distinctly disappointed when I learned he was gay, but I’ve come to accept it. Especially some of his stories with that as the theme are particularly hilarious.

David, you saved my life on the plane back from NYC the other day, and for that, and all the laughter you’ve brought me, I will read everything you will ever publish, in hopes of the wonderful feeling I get when I read your stories: he GETS me, he really GETS me. I will try not to gush if I ever get to meet you.

MOZART’S WOMEN, Jane Glover (am reading)
Loving music and Mozart as I do, I bought this hoping it would be as good as it sounded. I am happy to report that it is. No dry biography here, Mozart’s world and personality come to life as Ms. Glover writes about his relationships, both personal and professional. Lots of quotes from his letters (both to and from him), and I feel like I know darling Amadeus even better now. I listen to his music with that much more understanding. I have a short list of people I’d like to meet in heaven and ol’ Wolfie is high up on that one. With this book, I’ll know exactly what to say. And I’m only half-joking there, of course. This one is worth including in your library, if you are a Mozart fan.

THE BROOKLYN FOLLIES, Paul Auster (am reading)
With the exception of Barrel Fever, I bought all of these at the Barnes & Noble on Broadway in the West 80s. I’m always worried when I buy new authors, many have disappointed. Not this guy. He really knows how to tell a story and I can’t put this one down. He’s written several others, so I’m going to read those as well. I have a feeling he will not fail me. Mr. Auster is a wonderful writer — gifted and skilled with the written word, funny and astute. His bio shot ain’t bad either. That the stories unfold in places I’d love to live in, as well as a hints of other locales I know well, it’s easy to escape into the worlds he creates.

Thank god for writers and their books. It’s the only relief I seem to find these days.

P.S.: singing is going great, better than ever. I dreamed last night I was offered a major role, by my teachers no less. Studying with La Dolce’s hubby right now, as she is off auditioning and competing and being generally fabulous. I like them both very, very much. I feel very luck to have found them. And they make old Blackbeard look like the charlatan he truly is. Se-ee-ee-ah-ah-ah-ee.

One comment

  1. Thanks for the book recommendations, I am always on the lookout for my next book, I also ready voraciously, although I can only read one book at a time. I’ll have to check out Mozart’s women soon. I’m glad to read that you’re feeling better…now I’m in a bit of a funk.



Leave a Reply

